Andy Murray has been named alongside a host of other British tennis stars to represent GB at the Davis Cup finals in Madrid.

It will be the first time that 32 year old has represented GB since 2016. He was a key member of the team that won the cup in 2015, as he defeated David Goffin of Belgium on clay in the final match. His inclusion comes after he defeated Stan Wawrinka in the ATP Antwerp Final. It was only Murray’s seventh singles tournament since his return from surgery.

Captain Leon Smith has also named doubles pair Jamie Murray and Neil Skupski in the squad that will travel to Madrid to compete in the Cup. British No 1 Dan Evans was the other player chosen for the squad with a fifth player to be named in the coming weeks. Kyle Edmund has been dropped having lost his last seven tour matches.

Speaking to the BBC about his decision to include Murray, Smith said “It’s been absolutely fantastic to see Andy back competing again, headlined by his incredible win in Antwerp. Jamie and Neil have been gaining momentum as a team with impressive semi-final runs at the Cincinnati, US Open, Beijing and Shanghai.”

The finals will take place in Madrid from November 18-24. Great Britain are in Group E with Netherlands and Kazakhstan. It will also be the first time that the new format for the competition will be used. This format will have a round-robin stage before the group winners and the top two teams progress to the knockout stage.

(Pic by Carine06, under creative commons)