The final list of horses have been confirmed for Saturday’s Grand National, with 2021 champion Minella Times and jockey Rachael Blackmore teaming up again.

The pair wrote their names into the history books as Blackmore became the first female jockey to win the illustrious National Hunt race 12 months ago.

Minella Times could become only the third horse in history to win back to back after Tiger Roll in 2018 & 2019 and Red Rum in 1973 & 1974, while Blackmore would be the 10th jockey to win consecutive Nationals.

Last year’s third and fourth-placed Irish horses, Any Second Now & Burrows Saint, will also feature again, though won’t be joined by fifth-place Farclas after Gordon Elliott withdrew the gelding.

Nicky Henderson-trained Caribbean Boy also misses out due to a hamstring problem, meaning both Eclair Surf and Fortescue sneak into the final 40 horse line-up.

While Ireland dominates the field, Great Britain has a number of standouts.

Most notably, Aidan Coleman-ridden Snow Leopardess becomes the first mare to race the National after giving birth.

Commodore, School Boy Hours, Romain De Senam, & Roi Mage will be called upon as reserves, as a result of any of the 40 pulling out.

The Grand National race takes place on Saturday April 9 at 5.15pm.

Here is the list of confirmed horses in full:

#1 Minella Times (J: Rachael Blackmore, T: Henry De Bromhead)

#2 Delta Work (J: Jack Kennedy, T: Gordon Elliott)

#3 Easysland (J: Jonjo O’Neill Jr, T: Jonjo O’Neill)

#4 Any Second Now (J: Mark Walsh, T: Ted Walsh)

#5 Run Wild Fred (J: Davy Russell, T: Gordon Elliott)

#6 Lostintranslation (J: Harry Cobden, T: Colin Tizzard)

#7 Brahma Bull (J: Brian Hayes, T: Willie Mullins)

#8 Burrows Saint (J: Paul Townend, T: Willie Mullins)

#9 Mount Ida (J: Denis O’Regan, T: Gordon Elliott)

#10 Longhouse Poet (J: Darragh O’Keeffe, T: Martin Brassil)

#11 Fiddlerontheroof (J: Brendan Powell, T: Colin Tizzard)

#12 Two For Gold (J: David Bass, T: Kim Bailey)

#13 Santini (J: Nick Schofield, T: Polly Gundry)

#14 Samcro (J: Sean Bowen, T: Gordon Elliott)

#15 Escaria Ten (J: AP Heskin, T: Gordon Elliott)

#16 Good Boy Bobby (J: Daryl Jacob, T: Nigel Twiston-Davies)

#17 Lord Du Mesnil (J: Kielan Woods, T: Richard Hobson)

#18 Coko Beach (J: Sean Flanagan, T: Gordon Elliott)

#19 De Rasher Counter (J: Adam Wedge, T: Emma Lavelle)

#20 Kildisart (J: James Bowen, T: Ben Pauling)

#21 Discorama (J: Brian Cooper, T: Paul Nolan)

#22 Top Ville Ben (J: Tommy Dowson, T: Philip Kirby)

#23 Enjoy D’Allen (J: Connor Orr, T: Ciaran Murphy)

#24 Anibale Fly (J: TBC, T: AJ Martin)

#25 Dingo Dollar (J: Ryan Mania, T: Sandy Thomson)

#26 Freewheelin Dylan (J: Ricky Doyle, T: Dermot McLoughlin)

#27 Class Conti (J: Sam Twiston-Davies, T: Willie Mullins)

#28 Noble Yeats (J: Sam Waley-Cohen, T: Emmet Mullins)

#29 Mighty Thunder (J: Derek Fox, T: Lucinda Russell)

#30 Cloth Cap (J: Tom Scudamore, T: Jonjo O’Neill)

#31 Snow Leopardess (J: Aidan Coleman, T: Charlie Longsdon)

#32 Agusta Gold (J: Danny Mullins, T: Willie Mullins)

#33 Phoenix Way (J: Kevin Brogan, T: Harry Fry)

#34 Deise Aba (J: Tom O’Brien, T: Philip Hobbs)

#35 Blaklion (J: Harry Skelton, T: Dan Skelton)

#36 Poker Party (J: Robbie Power, T: Henry De Bromhead)

#37 Death Duty (J: Jordan Gainford, T: Gordon Elliott)

#38 Domaine De L’Isle (J: Harry Bannister, T: Sean Curran)

#39 Eclair Surf (J: Tom Bellamy, T: Emma Lavelle)

#40 Fortescue (J: Hugh Nugent, T: Henry Daly)


#41 Commodore (J: TBC, T: Venetia Williams)

#42 School Boy Hours (J: TBC, T: Noel Meade)

#43 Romain De Senam (J: TBC, T: David Pipe)

#44 Roi Mage (J: TBC, T: Patrick Griffin)

(Featured image used under Creative Commons licence. Credit: Paul, Flickr)