It was time for change with the Davis Cup and Gerard Pique was the man to help make that change.

Professional tennis players have been skipping the tournament due to them having to play too much throughout the tennis season.

The Spanish international footballer was the man to oversee the revamp of the 38 year old tournament with £2.15 billion being the cost of the 25 year plan.

The change has the support from Former British Number one, Tim Henman, and three time major title winner Andy Murray.

Andy Murray said he was “open to change” in an interview and also said that other tennis players should give it “a chance”

What has changed in the Davis cup?

Now, the tournament will split 18 nations into six groups of three. The group winners and the two best-placed runners up will go into the quarter finals.

Matches will be played over the best of three sets and in the finals, the matches will be played as two singles and one doubles.

The six groups have been selected and here they are below:

Group A – France, Serbia and Japan

Group B – Croatia, Spain and Russia

Group C – Argentina, Germany and Chile

Group D – Belgium, Australia and Colombia

Group E – Great Britain, Netherlands and Kazakhstan

Group F – United States, Italy and Canada

The matches will span over six days (starting today) with the two semi-finals being played on the 23rd of November and the 24th November will host the final.