China has been chosen as the host nation for the first edition of the new extended Club World Cup in 2021 which will include current European champions Liverpool as well as last year’s Europa League winners Chelsea.

FIFA announced earlier today that the new format will feature 24 teams across the seven continents, extending on from the current seven team format.

Furthermore it was announced that the competition will no longer be played annually, and will be contested every four years instead.

Liverpool seem to have already confirmed their spot at the tournament following their Champions League triumph in Madrid earlier this year, and they look set to be joined in China by the Champions League and Europa League winners between 2018 and 2021, which includes fellow English rivals Chelsea.

However, FIFA have delayed the decision of announcing how many affiliated spots each continent will gain, which could affect the reds status.

Jurgen Klopp’s men are also participating in this year’s competition, and will play either CF Monterrey (Mexico), Al Saad SC (Qatar) or Hienghène Sport (New Caledonia) in the semi-finals on December 18.

Liverpool have only ever featured in the competition once before, losing 1-0 in the 2005 final to Brazilian side São Paulo.

[Photo by Remko Tanis – Creative Commons]