The Merseyside Cross Country team to compete at the New Balance English Schools’ Cross Country Championships have been chosen.

The race is set to take place on March 14th, with Liverpool’s Sefton Park the chosen venue for the race, giving those from Merseyside a home advantage.

The event is the pinnacle of the Cross Country season for those U17 and below.

Image result for english schools cross country

The full list of those chosen can be found below:

Junior Boys:

Liam McKay (St Francis Xaxier College), Alex Poulston (Calday Grange Grammar School), Jack Bernhem (Calday Grange Grammar School), Conrad Lucas (Formby High School), Jack Talbot (St Anselm’s College), Louis Hatton (Calday Grange Grammar School), Josh Redmond (St Hilda’s CF High School) and James Evans (The Bluecoat School).

Junior Girls:

Ella McMutrie (Belvedere Academy), Sophie Fludger (West Kirby Grammar), Emma Gittens (King David), Emily Dean (Greenbank), Lara Bellingham (Merchant Taylors), Gabrielle Phelan (Upton Hall), Iris Davidson (Formby High) and Evie Smith (Wirral Grammar).

Intermediate Boys:

Charlie Teare (King David High School), William Strickley (Wirral Grammar School), Joshua Hale (St Anselm’s College), Daniel Hayes (Calday Grange Grammar School), Ethan Brady-Jones (St John Plessington Catholic College), TJ Jones (Wirral Grammar School), William Sutcliffe (Calday Grange Grammar School) and Michael Henderson (Formby High School).

Intermediate Girls:

Keira Brady Jones (St John Plessington), Olivia Logan (Greenbank High), Faye O’Hare (Broughton Hall), Ellen Mary (Kearney Upton Hall), Emma Fildes (Upton Hall), Lucia Pyne (West Kirby Grammar), Lucy Milling (Sacred Heart) and Zarah White (BHSA).

Senior Boys:

Louis Johnston (St Anselm’s College), Charlie Roberts (Rainhill High School), Jamie Ford (Carmel College), Joe Joinson (St Anselm’s College), Fernando Izqueirdo (St Anselm’s College), Michael Brussells (St Helens College) and Finan Johnston (St Anselm’s College).

Senior Girls:

Rachel Theobald (Upton), Jennifer Williamson (Formby High), Lucy Hignett (Wirral Grammar), Phoebe Lucas, Rachel Hurst (Birkenhead High School), Isabel Hodder (Wirral Grammar), Niamh Donnelly (St Edwards) and Ella McNiven (King David).


All those chosen have been done so on a wide variety of factors, which mainly includes past performances during the earlier XC season.

The annual Merseyside Schools’ XC Championships took place on February 1st at Arrowe Park, with those successful earning a place to represent Merseyside in March.

All will be looking to improve from last year’s performance in Leeds.

Picture by under Creative Commons License